Hawaii-Maui

Ka'anapali Beach Hotel


Email | Share |
Exceptional Value    
Please note that "Value" inclusions may have room type, duration and/or travel date restrictions.

2018 Exceptional Values
Extra Value: No Resort Fee. Free Hawaiian Activities Daily and Aloha Passport Program for Kids. Free Hula Show (Tuesdays - Sundays) and Hawaiian Entertainment in Courtyard.
Family: Kids 17 and under Stay Free. Kids 5 and under Eat Free.

Located in the heart of Maui ’s premier resort fronting a three-mile flawless stretch of world famous Ka ’anapali Beach. With 432 rooms, spread throughout four separate wings, one restaurant, and a poolside bar and grill, this is the ideal setting to turn your Hawaiian dream into lifelong memories. Serenades by singing employees, Hawaii ’s regional cuisine, complimentary hula show, signature interactive Hawaiian cultural activities, free year round kids program, weekly arts and crafts fair, welcome breakfast, and departing lei ceremony add to the value. Recognized as Hawaii’s Most Hawaiian Hotel for over 25 years, guests can experience the Hawaiian values of Ho’okipa (Hospitality), Po’okela (Excellence), and Kokua (Helpfulness) at the hotel’s NEW Hale Ho’okipa Hawaiian Cultural Center. With a team of Hawaiian cultural advisors, you’ll be offered daily authentic experiences through free, family-friendly activities, including hula, ukulele lessons, lei making, Hawaiian language lessons and more. Other activities include a giant checkerboard and ping-pong table. A sunset torch lighting ceremony welcomes you to the complimentary Hawaiian entertainment and hula show, performed outdoors in the Tiki Terrace Courtyard.

You can also enjoy fun beach activities at the new ocean activity center, Hale Huaka’i, open daily. Located just steps away from Ka’anapali Beach, the highly-experienced Alaka’i (guides) bring Hawaiian culture to popular ocean adventures such as surfing, stand up paddle boarding, and snorkeling, while sharing their insight about being stewards of Hawaii’s culture, the ocean, and its many creatures. Hale Huaka’i also offers beach rentals such as snorkel sets and cabana rentals to make your ocean experience the best.

Ka’anapali Beach Hotel is more than just another hotel set amongst tropical gardens. At this resort you’ll experience the little touches that you’d only find in a Hawaiian home, like bedspreads of Hawaiian quilt design and tropical furnishings. And always, the warmth of a smile. Because once you're there, you’re family.
HOTEL LOCATION
The resort is located in the Kaanapali Beach Resort, adjacent to the Ka'anapali Golf Courses and Whalers Village Shopping Center. It is 3 miles from Lahaina, set majestically on a 3 mile stretch of sandy beach along the western coast of Maui.
Address: 2525 KA'ANAPALI PARKWAY
LAHAINA, MAUI
HI

US
Local Phone: 808-661-0011
Toll Free Phone: 1-800-262-8450
Fax: 808-667-5616
Website Address: www.kbhmaui.com
HOTEL FACILITIES
Barber / Beauty Salon
Boutique Shops
Business Services
Concierge
Currency Exchange
Laundry / Dry Cleaning Service
Meeting Rooms
Parking($12 self / $14 valet)
Shopping Mall Nearby (2 miles)
Pools
Number of Pools: 1
Outdoor Pools: 1     
The hotel offers a whale shaped swimming pool, and there are free snorkel safety lessons offered daily.
Golf: NEARBY
Ka`anapali North and Ka`anapali South Golf Courses
The North Course was designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr, and is a Par 37-34-71 with aYardage of 6,136. The South Course was designed by Arthur Jack Snyder and is a Par 36-35-71 with a Yardage of 6,067. Free transportation available by resort shuttle.
Holes: 36
Green Fees: $115 - $140 (approx)
Cart Fee: $30. rider fee
Club Rental Fees: $30 (APPROX.)
Lessons Available
Water Sports on Site
Fishing: Additional Charge
Scuba: Additional Charge
Snorkeling: Additional Charge
Motorboats: Additional Charge
JetSki / Waverunner: Additional Charge
Waterskiing: Additional Charge
Wind Surf: Additional Charge
Other Sports Available
Horseback Riding: Additional Charge
Jogging Trail: Complimentary
Health Club / Spa
Massage: Additional Charge
Nautilus Equipment: Additional Charge
Manicure / Pedicure: Additional Charge
Facials: Additional Charge
HOTEL DETAILS
The Ka'anapali Beach Hotel combines a charming Hawaiian atmosphere with an ideal Maui oceanfront location. The 430 rooms are spread throughout four separate wings, each room featuring an island dcor. Recognized as "Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel," the resort offers complimentary Hawaiian activities, nightly hula shows, and a whale-shaped swimming pool. Guests also receive free transportation by resort bus to tennis and golf at the Kaanapali Resort. Beach: The hotel is situated on a beautiful golden sand public beach perfect for snorkeling. Check-in: 3:30pm
Check-out: 11:00am
Total Rooms: 430
Year Opened: 1964 Credit Cards: Visa, Master Card, Diners Club, Discover, American Express, JCB, Carte Blanche
HOTEL RESTRICTIONS
No Resort Fee!
ROOM TYPES
OCEANFRONT - BREAKFAST
425 sq. ft. Located in Maui, Kauai & Lanai wings of the hotel and offer an ocean view from within the room. Private balcony. Rates include daily buffet breakfast for all guests. Sleeps up to 4 (1 King + day bed or 2 doubles).
Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Carpet
Non-Smoking Available
Balcony or Terrace
Refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Radio Alarm Clock
Telephone
Television
Room Safe
PARTIAL OCEAN VW
425 sq. ft. Located in all wings of the hotel and offer a limited view of the ocean from the private balcony. Rates are for room only. Sleeps up to 4 (1 King + day bed or 2 doubles).
Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Bathtub
Shower
Carpet
Non-Smoking Available
Balcony or Terrace
Refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Radio Alarm Clock
Telephone
Television
Room Safe
OCEAN VIEW - BREAKFAST
425 sq. ft. Directly facing the ocean in the Kauai & Molokai wings. Unobstructed ocean views. Private balcony. Rates include daily buffet breakfast for all guests. Sleeps up to 4 (1 King + day bed or 2 doubles).
Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Carpet
Non-Smoking Available
Balcony or Terrace
Refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Radio Alarm Clock
Telephone
Television
Room Safe
GARDEN VIEW - BREAKFAST
425 sq. ft. Located in the Kauai and Molokai wings. Rooms face the two tropical gardens and have a private balcony. Rates include a daily buffet breakfast for all guests. Sleeps up to 4 (1 King + daybed or 2 doubles).
Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Carpet
Non-Smoking Available
Balcony or Terrace
Refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Radio Alarm Clock
Telephone
Television
Room Safe
POOL VIEW - BREAKFAST
425 sq. ft. Located in all wings of the hotel and offering a pool view from private balcony. Rates include a daily buffet breakfast for all guests. Sleeps up to 4 (1 King + day bed or 2 doubles).
Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Carpet
Non-Smoking Available
Balcony or Terrace
Refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Radio Alarm Clock
Telephone
Television
Room Safe
OCEANFRONT
425 sq. ft. Located in Maui, Kauai & Lanai wings of the hotel and offer an ocean viewfrom within the room. Private balcony. Rates are for room only. Sleeps up to 4 (1 King + day bed or 2 doubles).
Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Carpet
Non-Smoking Available
Balcony or Terrace
Refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Radio Alarm Clock
Telephone
Television
Room Safe
PARTIAL OCEAN - BREAKFAST
425 sq. ft. Located in all wings of the hotel and offer a limited view of the ocean from the private balcony. Rates include a daily buffet breakfast for all guests. Sleeps up to 4 (1 King + day bed or 2 doubles).
Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Carpet
Non-Smoking Available
Balcony or Terrace
Refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Radio Alarm Clock
Telephone
Television
Room Safe
OCEAN VIEW
425 sq. ft. Directly facing the ocean in the Kauai & Molokai wings. Unobstructed ocean views. Private balcony. Rates are for room only. Sleeps up to 4 (1 King + day bed or 2 doubles).
Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Carpet
Non-Smoking Available
Balcony or Terrace
Refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Radio Alarm Clock
Telephone
Television
Room Safe
GARDEN VIEW
425 sq. ft. Located in the Kauai and Molokai wings. Rooms face the tropical two gardens and have a private balcony. Rates are for room only. Sleeps up to 4 (1 King + daybed or 2 doubles).
Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Carpet
Non-Smoking Available
Balcony or Terrace
Refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Radio Alarm Clock
Telephone
Television
Room Safe
POOL VIEW
425 sq. ft. Located in all wings of the hotel and offering a pool view from private balcony. Rates are for room only. Sleeps up to 4 (1 King + day bed or 2 doubles).
Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Carpet
Non-Smoking Available
Balcony or Terrace
Refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Radio Alarm Clock
Telephone
Television
Room Safe

OTHER INFO
ADA compliant rooms available.
Roll aways: $40/day
DINING
There are 2 Restaurants at Ka'anapali Beach Hotel:
Tiki Bar & Grill - Poolside grill open daily serving snacks, sandwiches, full selection of appetizers. exotic tropical cocktails, and unique non-alcoholic smoothies blended from local fresh fruit. Open 7 days a week 10 am-10 pm.
Tiki Terrace - Enjoy true Hawaii style dining-open air, casual, featuring Hawaii Regional cuisine. Selection of fresh island fish and seafood or enjoy juicy steaks rotisserie and suckling pig.Children 5 & Under Eat Free. Open Sat-Mon for breakfast and dinner.
ACTIVITIES & ENTERTAINMENT
Daily Activities & Entertainment:
Hula lessons, Lei-making, 'Ukulele lessons, Cultural Garden Walk, Lauhala Weaving, Hawaiian Throw Net Fishing, Hawaiian Language classes, Hularobics, Pineapple Cutting Demostration, Kukui Bracelet Making, Kaula (Hawaiian Cordage), Pu'ohe, 'Ohe Kapala
Nightly Activities & Entertainment:
Sunset Torch lighting Ceremony, Complimentary Hula Shows, Hawaiian Music.
CHILDREN'S PROGRAMS
Aloha Passport Program for Kids is a family program rather than a drop-off kids' campYour family will be able to play together as you visit areas of the hotel and learn Hawaiian arts and crafts.At check-in every family will recieve information on program
Applicable Ages: 12 and under.
Program Fees: Complimentary.

Babysitting Fee: $18/hr (3 hr min)
Advance Notice for Babysitting: 12 hours
At check-in every family will recieve information about program, and fun family activities.

TripAdvisor Web Reviews
Based on 4718reviews
What to expect
Location
Rooms
Service
Value



Apple Vacations Traveller Reviews
ELIZABETH S.
Apr 16 2018
Great place to stay! It is as represented!
Customer Rating: 

Great Place to Get Away!
STEVE H.
Sep 23 2017
We came to Ka'anapali for a quick getaway with friends. KPH was a great option on the less-expensive side of hotels in the KP strip, but was not run down or disappointing at all! We loved the easy access to Black Rock, the great location on the beach, the walkway with easy access to the local shopping and restaurants, and the Luau shows each night were a lot of fun to watch! Being nestled against a mountain, you can expect to get a little rain each day - at least, we did. But it tends to clear quickly. It was an easy drive to Lahaina, which boasts the beautiful Front Street shopping center and the infamous Banyan tree(s?). It was also an easy drive to Paia and the Road to Hana, which is a must if you visit Maui! The KPH Lei ceremony as we left was icing on the cake - the man who officiated our ceremony was very knowledgeable and clearly took it very seriously. We wold most likely return!
Customer Rating: 

Just OK!
MELODEE W.
Sep 03 2017
First they require a $500 hold on a credit card, $75.00 a day. I never saw that printed anywhere. In our first room, we had a roach problem. I killed over 15 in one night. Had to change rooms which improved the issue, but took us away from our friends and family. I felt the food at the hotel was mediocre. I coveted every other hotels menu and food. We also had an issue the last night whith a dinner cruise booked by hotel concierge. It has yet to be resolved, but they are trying to help us out and I'm thankful for that. Overall, we learned we are more Oahu people. Maui and the hotel felt like it closed down at 8:30 each night. Glad we experienced Maui, but probably won't return.
Customer Rating: 

Kaanapali Beach Hotel Review
ROBERT H.
Aug 15 2017
Our stay at the hotel was really good until our last night there. There was a wedding right outside our balcony which started about 4:00 in the afternoon and continued with very loud rap, inappropriate music for us until 9:30 p.m. The music was so loud we could not even talk until each other in our own room. We feel it was very inappropriate for the hotel to hold an event that effected our stay that we had paid for. I cannot stress enough that this event ruined our last evening at the hotel and it was my husband birthday and we had planned to have a quiet romantic evening on our balcony and beach. We probably would not stay there again for this reason.
Customer Rating: 

Great Hotel
JOANNE L.
Jun 17 2017
The facility and staff are wonderful. Beautiful location and gorgeous beach. Accessible to many Maui outings.
Customer Rating: 

Fantastic Resort
KATHLEEN O.
Nov 14 2016
This is the second time we stayed at the KBH. The first time was back in 2001. When we booked this time we hoped that it would be as great as 15 years ago. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. grounds were beautiful and the staff was great. If we ever get back to Maui we would not have to think twice about where to stay...it would be at the KBH.
Customer Rating: 

Hotel Review
DONALD D.
Dec 31 2015
It seems to be a practice of the beach hotels not to provide chairs or shade for hotel quests. You must rent them from venders at $35 perday.Bummer! Staff was very friendly!
Customer Rating: 

Our summer vacation
KEVIN C.
Aug 17 2014
We were shocked to see that our travel agent booked us at this hotel since it was not the one we requested. This hotel is in bad need of a remodel. It's a shame that it's sitting on prime beach property and in such awful shape! The pool was dirty, the lobby looks like it was decorated by a park and swap, the rooms are musty and the air conditioner vents leak onto the carpet. They could definitely need an update from the 1970's. We spent most of time at neighboring resorts since they had the amenities that we desired. Originally we were placed in a room right next to the elevator that we could hear open and close with every guest. The door had a gap about 4 inches off the floor. Management did move us to a nicer room by our travel companions were placed in a room with a broken toilet! The hotel experience was very disappointing since we were stuck with little options at that point. The staff was pleasant enough but not as upbeat as the other resorts in the area. I'm sure they are experiencing the same sadness of the resort!
Customer Rating: 

Major Remodel Needed
LINDA V.
Aug 05 2014
This hotel needs a major remodel. The lobby has dirty walls, scratched up doors, worn furniture, artificial plants that are flea market quality. Overall, very poor impression when you walk in. The first room we were given, leaked water on to the floor from the air duct and the furniture was in poor condition. After complaining, the hotel did upgrade our room, however, the furniture still needed some repair. Overall, this hotel was a major disappointment.
Customer Rating: 

3rd time not necessarily the charm
ALAN G.
Jul 23 2014
This was our 3rd time to this hotel. This was my least favorite of rooms that we received. We were on our 30th anniversary and I was hoping for the possible upgrade in rooms. That didn't h happen. We got put on the bottom floor and I was hoping to not be on the lower floor (I'm more comfortable above ground level). We did ask if we could be moved but that was a no. I was looking forward to sitting on my balcony in the morning looking at the views, but since we were on the ground level all I could look at was the hedge. Just a little disappointed in the room location. Maybe if we make it back to Maui again I'll get a nicer room :)
Customer Rating: 

JOHN M.
Aug 24 2013
The hotel lives up to its reputation as the most Hawaiian hotel. It's amenities and location contribute to a relaxing vacation.
Customer Rating: 

TripAdvisor Traveller Reviews
Appalling hotel with appalling service
xannalisax, Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Thu Jul 12 18:07:42 EDT 2018
We were supposed to stay here for our honeymoon in July. We arrived late at night after a long haul flight from UK and booked in to what should have been an Ocean view room. The first thing that struck me was the smell- the room smelt mouldy and musty and the decor was dingy. When I opened the curtains all I could see were the trees; no ocean. I queried this with the company we booked with who contacted the hotel and was told that because it was dark I was unable to see the sea however it was an ocean view room. I was dubious about this but gave Wilma on the reception desk the benefit of the doubt and decided to address this in the morning if it was still required. (Remember this hotel is on the beach that is well lit with all the other hotels and restaurants surrounding it) I then went to get into bed and pulled back the duvet to find several ear wig type bugs crawling all over the pillows. I complained again to Wilma to be told “wait a minute, aren’t you the people who just complained about the view?” Her attitude was quite dismissive and when I showed her the videos of the bugs, she rolled her eyes at me and paid no attention to it. We told Wilma that we were not happy to stay there as this was now a question of cleanliness (the lack of an ocean view room was no longer here nor there). After about 20 minutes she found us another room however it was a down grade from what we had paid for with no offer of a refund for the price difference, there was no elevator to take all of our cases up to the room and the smell had the same mouldy smell to the rooms. I asked Wilma if it had the same ocean view as our original room and she told me “there’s no such thing as an ocean view room, it’s ocean facing”. All I could see was the apartment block opposite us. Tired, frustrated and upset we resorted to initially sleeping in our rental car before checking into a beautiful hotel next door... at more cost to us. To this day, the company we booked with have still received no response from the Manager of this hotel, no refund and they still have hold of our €300 security fee. Great service Ka’anapali Beach Hotel

Our 4th visit was just as amazing as the first!
Sparky3, Wilmington, North Carolina
Thu Jul 12 12:40:52 EDT 2018
This was our 4th visit to this resort, the first one being 20 years ago! The hotel truly remains a Maui gem and has the same Aloha spirit that it had twenty years ago. If you want a fancy, five-star resort, this hotel is probably not for you. We went to a fancy five star resort the last two nights of our trip because we had two free nights on points. We missed our '' home'' so much at Kaanapali Beach, we walked back there every day to eat and listen to the music! The staff there are truly amazing; they make you feel so special and at home. I cry every time we leave at the going away ceremony, and this time was no exception. There was no better place in this world to celebrate my 60th birthday! The Luau on Monday night told a beautiful story of the culture of Hawaii. The food was delectable and abundant. There is a lot of shade on this property with very pretty flowering trees. Of course, there are plenty of sunny spots, too, but if you need shade as I do, you can find it! We are already planning our next visit and will be taking the grandchildren. This resort has it all! It is truly "home."

July Kaanapali Beach
Amanda L,
Thu Jul 12 10:41:16 EDT 2018
Maybe worth if we could have done the cultural activities but they were all booked. I always plan in advance, booked this hotel months in advance, but seems no way to get on that cultural activities list early without anyone telling us: and no one at check in did. Concierge was busy and had to wait in a huge line and when I finally got to the front they redirected me to another line: maybe make it more clear in the room pamplet where to go for certain services. Room was dingy and the bathrooms barebones. Okay for one night but would not stay here for more than one. Location is fantastic though and right on the beach. Would recommend other highly rated hotels/condos on this Kaanapali strip.

Depends on the Room you Get
connorjoyce993, Boston, Massachusetts
Thu Jul 12 10:11:45 EDT 2018
The location is top notch, the beach is fantastic with plenty of activities and restaurants near by. However, our original room was very unpleasant before we upgraded. Their oldest building is very outdated, and the rooms are very muggy and smell like mildew. We upgraded to Ocean View (for a fee) and that room was great. If you are looking for a dream vacation, I would not recommend because you are taking the risk of getting one of the worse rooms.

Trip to Maui 1961
vhughes01,
Thu Jul 12 06:16:21 EDT 2018
We like the Aloha, Old Hawaii spirit and feel at the Hotel. Don’t Loose that. You must close and remodel. You are wasting a fabulous location. The food at your free information breakfast was terrible.



The comments and opinions on this Ratings and Reviews section of our website are the views and opinions of TripAdvisor members and AppleVacations.passengers. They are providied 'as is' and we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury, inconvenience or other damage resulting from this information. You should verify critical information (for example passports and visas, and customs) with the relevant authorities, and review our Fair Trade Contract and Things To Know Before You Go (including our Health and Safety Tips For Travelers) before you travel.
Be the first to know! Sign up for email deals. Subscribe