Learn more about St. John.
LocationSt John - Beach
General Policies & Fine Print
Hotel requires a credit/debit card authorization or cash deposit upon check-in for incidentals; this will place a hold on your funds.
Individuals attending a convention cannot book this property for their stay. If found attending a convention, guests may be subject to higher room rates upon arrival.
Hotel Spring Break Policy:
This hotel cannot guarantee a spring-break-free environment.
Room taxes are included in vacation price.
Minimum night stay restrictions may apply.
Reservation changes may not be permitted unless authorized by the hotel.
Resort Fee: A mandatory hotel-imposed fee is included in your room rate.
Resort Fee Inclusions:
- On-property transportation
- Toll-free and local phone calls
- High-speed wireless Internet access
- Beach/pool chairs and umbrellas
- Pool floats and non-motorized water toys (snorkel gear excluded)
Customer Ratings & Reviews
TripAdvisor Traveler RatingBased on 3081 reviews
Poorly managed properly - very disappointed
I booked two award rooms for a single overnight stay in June, 2019. On a positive note, the hotel grounds were beautiful and all staff were pleasant. Unfortunately, we have a series of problems that were unresolved and which negatively impacted our stay, and cannot recommend this property for a stay in St John. I am a Marriott Titanium member, with one prior stay at this property (when it was a Hyatt property). We were not offered a room upgrade, but the status was recognized with continental breakfast coupons. Unfortunately, the rooms were not ready for check in upon arrival at 4:30p, and we waited until after 7p for the rooms after a long day of travel. This was compensated with a $150 room credit for each room. The resort credits covered the "resort fee", but we were unable to use the credits for both rooms due to the length of the stay. We asked if we could use the credits at the gift shop, which was confirmed by front desk staff, only to learn later that this was not possible. One room had a balance due while another had an outstanding credit. We asked to balance the charges when we received the final invoice after departure, and again were told that this was not possible. The hotel property is large and complimentary transportation is provided. Unfortunately, we found that the transportation often did not arrive within 20-30 minutes of the request, and eventually gave up on this service. We arrived at the beach restaurant at the 7a opening time for breakfast before departing, and waited 30 minutes until the servers were ready. We were then told that we could not use our breakfast coupons as credit toward more expensive menu items. All of these items are relatively minor and can be overlooked individually, but when considered collectively along with the post-stay response from hotel management, this review is justified. BTW, Marriott is currently being sued for the resort fee, and you can likely reclaim these fees with a letter to the Attorney General in the USVI or your home state. Google for details.
Luxury at its best
We had booked a place in St. John for 2 nights which unfortunately didn’t work out too well so we decided to upgrade to the Westin for the 2nd night. What a great choice! This place is amazing. Last minute so 4 of us took a king size studio with sofa bed which actually was quite large. The pool was to die for..absolutely beautiful. Beach was nice we had dinner on it ordered some fettuccine with fries and it was amazing for $46 for 4 of us. The grounds are gorgeous and they have golf carts to take you to your room or around whenever you want every time they pass by you walking they ask you if you want a lift.. what a nice perk! You can charge everything to your room or pay by credit card. Worth the few extra bucks for such a wonderful stay. Highly recommend.
stay in a high floor or you'll hear the unit above you
St. John has recovered well. Beaches are nice and the restaurants are making a come back. Westin unit #2514 is horrible. You hear folks urinating in their toilet above you, flushing, walking, or opening their sliding glass door. Front office managers ignore you and refuse to get the manager for you. Im a 5 star owner and own a 3 bedroom here, but booked 8 months out and got ground floor. Worst run villa in the entire program. Location is great and the island is great.
a good comeback.
We were pleasantly surprised by the rebound after the hurricanes. With the exception of the lobby building, most things were in great shape. It will be nice when the new restaurant replacing Lemongrass is open. Having a check-in lobby near the boat dock is a good thing. We did not like going in and out of the Red Hook marina on St. Thomas. We miss Crown Bay and Tickles pub.
Excellent time at Westin Resort St. John
Had another wonderful time. Great recovery following 2 hurricanes. Resort clean, safe and in overall beautiful conditions. Still has friendly, courteous and professional staff no matter what their jobs are.