Hotel Overview

2019 Resort Added Values!
Family: Kids 17 and under Stay Free. Kids 5 and younger Eat Free.

Walk barefoot through 40 acres, steps from Wailea Beach. Indulge at the award-winning Spa Grande and some of Maui's best restaurants. Your ultimate Hawaii getaway begins at the Grand Wailea Resort, winner of the AAA Four Diamond Award, 1998-2012 (14 years consecutive).

Located on the beautiful island of Maui - voted the Best Island in the World by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler - the Grand Wailea offers spacious beachfront accommodations designed for pure luxury and relaxation.

The Grand Wailea Resort features the best pools and water activities in Maui. Our Wailea Canyon Activity Pool is for the kid in everyone, with waterslides, rapids, a rope swing, and more. The nine pools on six different levels are connected by a river that carries swimmers along whitewater rapids and gentle currents. Wailea Canyon includes four jungle pools, four intertwining slides, a whitewater rapids slide, a Tarzan pool with rope swing, a sand beach, six waterfalls, caves, three Jacuzzis, an infant pool, the world's first water elevator, the Lava slide, Ana Puka slide, and a swim-up bar. The elegant Hibiscus Pool, reserved for adults, is a quiet retreat for sun and relaxation.

Voted 'Top 10 Spas in the United States' by CondŽ Nast Traveler and Travel & Leisure magazines, Spa Grande at the Grand Wailea is the best spa on Maui and one of the most luxurious resort spas in Hawaii. Spa Grande offers a wide array of treatments that reflect a balance between the traditions of the east, west, and ancient Hawaii. There is no Maui resort spa like it. It includes 40 treatment rooms in a 50,000 square-foot spa, the largest spa in Hawaii. It is famous for its exclusive Terme Hydrotherapy Circuit, a unique haven of water therapies featuring a Roman tub, saunas, cascading waterfalls, Swiss jet showers, a Japanese furo, and five specialty baths.

This award-winning resort is also near five championship, 18-hole, golf courses. Wailea Golf Club features three Maui golf courses, the Blue, Gold, and Emerald Courses, meticulously designed by the world's best golf architects. Discover some of Maui's best restaurants without even leaving the resort. From award winning restaurants like the HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUAA to world-renowned chefs like Alan Wong and his acclaimed AMASIA, the Grand Wailea Resort features a wide range of cuisine and casual dining options set in stunning Maui atmospheres.

And of course, just steps away from the Grand Wailea, is Wailea Beach, rated one of the best beaches on Maui and one of the top beaches in the world. Snorkel with green sea turtles. Kayak or stand-up paddleboard in Maui's warm waters. Or simply rent a cabana and watch a perfect Wailea Beach sunset. Whatever you desire on your Maui vacation, there is something for everyone at the Grand Wailea.

Location

Wailea - Beach
Kahului, HI, USA - Kahului Airport (OGG) : 30 miles

Property Information

Year Built: 1991
Last Renovation: 2007
Air conditioned guest rooms: 780
Floors: 9
Total rooms: 780

{{title}}

Hotel Details

Onsite Dining

Show More

Amenities

Show More

Activities

Show More

Hotel Advisories

Advisory A minimum mandatory hotel-imposed fee of $40 (plus tax) per room, per day, will be charged and collected by the hotel at check-in or check-out. This fee is subject to change without prior notice. The information published here is to give the client an estimate of additional fees that they may be responsible for but is not a guarantee of the final amount due. For a detailed description of what is included in the mandatory fee, please see hotel policies.
Advisory A minimum parking fee of $40 + tax per room, per day, per vehicle will be charged and collected by the hotel at check-in or check-out. This fee is subject to change without prior notice. The information published here is to give the client an estimate of additional fees that they may be responsible for but is not a guarantee of the final amount due.

General Policies & Fine Print

Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM
Minimum Check-In Age: 21
General Policies: Check-in Policy:
Hotel requires a credit/debit card authorization or cash deposit upon check-in for incidentals; this will place a hold on your funds.

Convention Policy:
Individuals attending a convention cannot book this property for their stay. If found attending a convention, guests may be subject to higher room rates upon arrival.

Hotel Spring Break Policy:
This hotel cannot guarantee a spring-break-free environment.

General Information:
Room taxes are included in vacation price.
Minimum night stay restrictions may apply.
Reservation changes may not be permitted unless authorized by the hotel.
Pet Policy Pets Not Allowed

Customer Ratings & Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.0 star tripadvisor rating 7926 reviews
  • 5.0 star tripadvisor rating
    It’s not called The Grand for nothing.

    I’m so grateful to have had an opportunity to stay at this legendary resort. The Grand is like nothing else, and offers so much. The pools are so fun, the drinks are the best I’ve had, and the food is fantastic. The service was so welcoming and warm. I hope to go back again some day!

    Oct 13, 2019
  • 3.0 star tripadvisor rating
    Outdated but fun for kids

    I really wanted to love this place. From the moment we arrived we felt like the hotel was out of touch with the modern traveler. Requiring valet parking seems like a thing of the past. They literally take your car away as soon as you arrive. You feel stranded and then you have to make decisions quickly. Not fun when you have a family and when your room isn’t ready. We were given a room to change in, which was nice. If it’s your first time, be prepared for crowds. It’s busy year-round. You have to get a wristband to use the pool, chairs, towels, and beach chairs. I understand why- it’s a public beach and they need to somehow monitor the patrons but it does feel a little like Vegas or an amusement park. It’s busy like that too. Pro-tip, get there early to get beach chairs and find a spot by the pool. It wasn’t an issue for us except for the day of arrival. Also they don’t have water stations but they do give ice water if you order cocktails or food. I did see a fountain somewhere. We bought water by the gallon from a grocery store and used our refillable bottles. The poolside food and drinks are super pricey when you consider how mediocre the quality is. We stayed at a 5 star place in Mexico and had exceptional but pricey poolside food, so it is possible. The menu options are kinda dated (nachos? For $24?) and the grotto bar is a little gross to eat at but people do it. It’s in the middle of a kid pool and waterslides. So drunk adults huddled under a rock drinking with kids splashing around nearby. The restaurants are very expensive and we heard just ok. We didn’t eat there because we liked going to Kihei for better food (Paia Fish Market, for example). Another pro-tip- DoorDash delivers great food options if you don’t have a car or feel lazy like we did. I recommend Da Kitchen for Hawaiian food. There is a “resort fee” of $40 and a valet fee of $40 so factor that in if you care about how much you are spending. Some people have no budget but we did. Keep in mind this is a VERY large property- 40 acres! This was probably a selling point during the “bigger is better” days but it can be tiring to run to your room if you forget something or if you are aging or have any issues walking. The gardens are really beautiful to walk through though, and I found my walks to and from my room to be quite magical and relaxing. The stuff mentioned above is forgettable because sometimes you have to accept you are shelling out cash like a pop star just to have a cocktail delivered poolside. That said, what is NOT forgettable or acceptable is BLACK MOLD and mildew in your giant opulent marble bathroom which you can tell was tiled and grouted in the 90’s. There wasn’t a bathroom fan or window to let the steam or humidity out. The hotel is definitely in need of a facelift. If we didn’t have a kid that loved waterslides (which were awesome by the way) we would have stayed elsewhere for a luxurious experience.

    Oct 12, 2019
  • 5.0 star tripadvisor rating
    Our home on Maui!

    When people ask how was our vacation to Maui, we always say the same thing-the staff at the Grand Wailea made us feel like family. From the Napua Tower (Lei, Ken, Jonathan, Faye, Patty ,Patrick, Carmen, and Armi) to the awesome pool attendants (Aki, Mandy, Becky, Dwayne, Ryan, Eldon ,Mary, Nichole, Chelsea, Hiraly, Sachito, and Poom), to the great team in valet parking (Dennis, Jessica, and Erin) everyone made sure that we enjoyed the full aloha spirit! Even the behind the scenes support of maintenance and housekeeping were outstanding and very attentive. The front desk was always there to help! (Thanks to Jaime and team!) If you are looking for the right location for your dream vacation, look no further than the Grand Wailea Resort on Maui. You will come away as we did, refreshed, relaxed, and looking forward to returning next year!

    Oct 12, 2019
  • 5.0 star tripadvisor rating
    The best way to experience paradise!

    I cannot express how amazing our experience was at the Grand Wailea. We checked in quite late at night, after 11pm. We were still greeted warmly by everyone, given our leis and were then treated to a room upgrade! The view was gorgeous, but I don't think there's a bad view on the property. We used both pools and enjoyed the amazing service at the cabanas. The luau was fantastic and so fun, with delicious food. We enjoyed the morning buffet one day, and my husband loaded up his omelette with basically everything they have! We ordered room service extensively. The food was good, the menu was pretty decent, and the staff were always awesome. My husband took scuba lessons, we played in the ocean, we sat on our lanai for countless hours enjoying the views of the chapel and the beach. We fell asleep with all the doors open every night listening to the little waterfall below us and the ocean waves crashing. It was literally an experience out of a dream. I was already recommending this resort before we even left!

    Oct 12, 2019
  • 1.0 star tripadvisor rating
    Worst customer service ever!

    The grounds and main reception are beautiful but sadly all this hotel wants is your money and if it can get lots of that by selling lots of rooms and it’s dignity to companies who want to hold conferences then so be it. I was charged $300+ for the rental of a cabana with a view at the adult only pool. My expectation was to have a wonderful peaceful last day in paradise and what I got was a place in the middle of what can only be described as a Plexus frate party. Large groups surrounding our cabana all drinking can after can of larger all from cooler boxes they had brought with them along with their very own sound system to play very loud music most of which had Lyrics that were both vulgar and racist. I saw members of your team ask them on a number of occasions to turn it down only to be laughed at and ignored. I left my cabana at the time when the plexus team were all joking about how much they had drunk and that the water level of the pool must have gone up due to them all urinating in it. I reported all this to the duty manager of the hotel, I think her name was Alice or Alex, who assured me she would look into this and that I would be contacted in the morning by another manager to discuss my experience and bill. I explained what time I was leaving and to my great disappointment but not surprise I have heard nothing. I then replied to the standard “did you enjoy your stay” email with all the information I have shared here but again no response from the Grand Wailea. They have had my money so why would they. If you are saving up for a holiday of a lifetime then please don’t go here. Next door is the four seasons. We stayed at both. The rooms at the four seasons cost a bit more but that’s because they are better. The service is Fantastic and the cabanas are free! I’ll leave you with a picture of my Grand Wailer $300+ cabana view.

    Oct 12, 2019
Prices per person based on double occupancy including round-trip airfare via U.S. certified air carriers and round-trip airport/hotel transfers when arriving at airport closest to destination (for exceptions see applevacations.com/faq), hotel taxes and baggage handling, fuel surcharges, and all pre-collected U.S. and foreign taxes. In some instances, pricing may specifically apply to one of multiple flights on select departure days. All packages are based on the lowest hotel/air classes available at time of publication, capacity controlled, subject to availability and change without notice. Promotional pricing may only be available for a limited time. Fees may apply for carry-on and checked baggage-view Baggage Policies. Some resort fees, environmental levies and departure taxes are not included and may be payable in resort. View Frequently Asked Questions for more information. Apple Vacations is not responsible for errors or omissions. Cancellation policies apply. Bookings are subject to the Fair Trade Contract. All public charter flights are operated by ALG Vacations Corp: Allegiant Air: PC 18-231, A319-156 seats or A320-177 seats or A320-186 seats/PC 18-234, A319-156 seats or A320-186 seats; Icelandair: PC 19-077, B757-200-183 seats; Miami Air: PC 18-230, B737-800-183 seats/PC 19-085, B737-800, 180 seats/PC 19-091, B737-800-183 seats; Sunwing Airlines: PC 19-090, B737-800-189 seats; Swift Air: PC 18-229, B737-400-150 seats/PC 19-092, B737-400-150 seats; Viva Aerobus: PC 18-228, A320-180 seats/PC 18-254, A320-180 seats/PC 19-079, A320-185 seats/PC 19-094, A320-185 seats; Volaris: PC 18-233, A320-180 seats. CST2139014-20 62519