Punta Cana

Riu Palace Macao


Email | Share |
All Inclusive    

2018 Exceptional Value!
Honeymoon: Surprise gift in room, small bottle of rum, king bed (subject to availablity at time of check-in), late check-out (subject to availability at time of departure), complimentary upgrade to next available room category (subject to availablity and upon request), $35 USD spa credit in Ocean Harmony massage for two (50 min), once per stay. This discount does not apply with other promotions and discounts.

Come to Punta Cana and bask in the sunlight, heavenly beaches, and coconut palms. The first adults-only RIU Resort, Riu Palace Macao is elegant with a colonial style. Perfect for weddings and honeymooners! Enjoy high-quality service, comfortable accommodations, and fine dining choices that are the staple of RIU Resorts.

Dining choices range from International, Japanese, Krystal Fusion, Steakhouse, and Italian. Snacks are available 24-hours a day! For additional lunch and snack choices, check out neighboring Riu Bambu and Riu Naiboa. Guests of Riu Palace Macao enjoy exchange privileges with these resorts (dinner dining excluded).

Shop on RIU's famed "Caribbean Street" that features a gym, hairdresser, jeweler, billiards, and massages. The fun goes early into the morning at Pacha nightclub. There is also live music and evening shows. Entrance and drinks are included at "Copacabana" Amphitheater.

Activities are available on both land and water. Explore the sea with windsurfing, sailing, kayaks, body boards, and snorkeling equipment. Spend the day playing a friendly game of table tennis, water polo, or volleyball. The gym is also available free of charge!

Find more information about Riu Hotels & Resorts.

Learn more about Punta Cana.
HOTEL LOCATION
The Riu Palace is located on the white beaches of Playa de Arena Gorda, 23 km away from the airport and 50 km away from the city of Higuey.
Address:
PUNTA CANA


DR
Local Phone: 809-221-7171
Fax: 809-682-1645
E-mail Address: /sapmnt/P01/transfer/MM/out
HOTEL FACILITIES
Barber / Beauty Salon
Boutique Shops
Car Rental
Concierge
Currency Exchange
Disco / Nightclub
Laundry / Dry Cleaning Service
Parking
Casino Onsite
Pools
Number of Pools: 1
Outdoor Pools: 1     
There is an outdoor freshwater pool surrounded by tropical gardens, with a jacuzzi.
Golf: NEARBY
Bavaro Golf Course - 12 km away.
Barcelo Bavaro Golf Course is an 18-hole, Par 72 course designed by Juan Manuel Gordillo. It is flat and very playable, with narrow fairways, palm trees, lakes and dense vegetation. It was built with the enjoyment of the resort tourist in mind.
Holes: 18
Green Fees: $70 b/f 2pm; $35 aft
Lessons Available
Tennis
Number of Courts: 4
Outdoor Courts: 4
Lighted Courts: 4
Water Sports on Site
Fishing: Additional Charge
Sunfish Sailing: Complimentary
Scuba: Additional Charge
Snorkeling: Complimentary
Paddle Boats: Complimentary
Wind Surf: Complimentary
Health Club / Spa
Aerobics: Complimentary
Jacuzzi: Complimentary
Massage: Additional Charge
Manicure / Pedicure: Additional Charge
HOTEL DETAILS
The prime example of luxurious comfort, Riu Palace is a deluxe beachfront hotel featuring a classic colonial style of architecture. Surrounded by extensive palm groves, this All-Inclusive resort offers elegantly appointed air-conditioned rooms. Food and beverages available until 2am. Exchange privileges with Riu Bambu and Riu Naiboa. Beach: The hotel is located directly on a magnificent 26 km stretch of white sand beach, dotted with palms and bordering pristine Caribbean waters. Guests have access to lounge chairs and an array of watersports (windsurfing, sailing, canoes, etc). Check-in: 12:00 noon
Check-out: 12:00 noon
Total Rooms: 356
Year Opened: 1994 Credit Cards: Visa, Master Card, Diners Club, American Express
HOTEL RESTRICTIONS
There are no handicapped rooms. Drinks at the Pacha Discothčque are not included. No Spring Breakers
ROOM TYPES
JUNIOR SUITE SUPERIOR
31 square meter rooms have one super king-size bed or two small double beds, a living room, WiFi, satellite TV, air conditioning, a minibar & beverage dispenser & a coffemaker. Plus, from the balcony or terrace, incredible views of the sea.
1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Balcony or Terrace
Kitchen
Minibar
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Telephone
Television
TV Movies
Room Safe
Satellite
JUNIOR SUITE DELUXE SUPERIOR
1 king bed or 2 double beds, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, & balconyor terrace with beach view. Bathroom with hydro-massage tub, extra shower cabin, a liquor dispenser, by door separate toilet, double sink.
1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Balcony or Terrace
Kitchen
Minibar
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Telephone
Television
TV Movies
Room Safe
Satellite
SUITE
52 square meter rooms, one super king-size bed, a sofa in the lounge area, a hydromassage bathtub, WiFi, satellite TV, air conditioning, a minibar and beverage dispenser,a coffee maker, and a balcony or terrace.
1 King Bed Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Balcony or Terrace
Minibar
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Telephone
Television
TV Movies
Room Safe
Satellite
JACUZZI SUITE
58 square meter rooms have a super king-size bed, a sofa in lounge area, a hydromassage bathtub, WiFi, satellite TV, AC, a minibar and beverage dispenser, and a coffee mar. Plus, on the terrace, you'll find a jacuzzi for maximum relaxation.
1 King Bed Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Balcony or Terrace
Jacuzzi
Minibar
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Telephone
Television
TV Movies
Room Safe
Satellite
JUNIOR SUITE
31 square meter rooms, super king-size bed or two small double beds, a living room, WiFi, satellite TV, air conditioning, minibar, a coffee maker & a balcony or terrace.
1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Balcony or Terrace
Kitchen
Minibar
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Telephone
Television
TV Movies
Room Safe
Satellite
JUNIOR DELUXE SUITE AI
1 king bed or 2 double beds, split-level living room area with sofa, direct dial phone & balcony or terrace with garden view. Bathroom with hydro-massage tub, extra shower cabin, a liquor dispenser, by door separate toilet, double sink, bidet.
1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds Other Amenities -
Air Conditioning
Fan
Bathtub
Shower
Balcony or Terrace
Kitchen
Minibar
Coffee Maker
Hair Dryer
Iron
Telephone
Television
TV Movies
Room Safe
Satellite

OTHER INFO
Free Wifi available in rooms.
24 Hour Room Service.
DINING
Riu Palace Macao features 1 meal plan options:
All Inclusive-Guests staying at Riu Palace Macao enjoy exchange privileges within the Riu Resort complex (excluding dinner)
There are 5 Restaurants at Riu Palace Macao:
Kabuki - A la carte restaurant serving Japanese cuisine. Open for dinner. Reservatio ns are required. Men are required to wear long pants.
Volare - Italian restaurant (starters buffet)
Steakhouse -
Krystal - Fusion restaurant
El Patio - Main buffet style restaurant with show cooking, serving International and local cuisine.
ACTIVITIES & ENTERTAINMENT
Daily Activities & Entertainment:
Watersports, Tennis, Shopping on the Caribbean Street, Table Tennis, Aerobics, Waterpolo, Volley Ball, Organized Activities.
Nightly Activities & Entertainment:
The Pacha Disco is open every night, and guests may also enjoy the Copacabana amphitheater and Riu Palace Macao Casino.
Apple Vacations Customer Satisfaction Score
Hotel Average
What to expect
Food Quality
Comfort
Cleanliness
Service
2042 Recommend
2042 past Apple Vacationers would recommend Riu Palace Macao to their friends and family



Latest Apple Vacations Review >>
TripAdvisor Web Reviews
Based on 4513reviews
What to expect
Location
Rooms
Service
Value



Apple Vacations Traveller Reviews
My review
STACY K.
Aug 10 2018
Staff and accommodations were great. The beach had a ton of seaweed so, not so good. Entertainment should start earlier in the evening, such as 7:30 or 8:00. Food wasn't the greatest.
Customer Rating: 

Awesome vacation
ISIDRO L.
Aug 03 2018
Hotel staff was amazing. Everyone we interacted with was very friendly, treated us like family. We spent my wife's birthday there and not only did she get a cake but a small gift from the hotel. Staff sang happy birthday to her a couple time through out the day. We loved this hotel and will highly recommend it to family and friends.
Customer Rating: 

2nd Time Around in Punta Cana
BOYCE P.
Jun 27 2018
We went to PC about 3 years ago and weren't impressed with the resort (NOT a RIU resort). We loved the RIU Palace Macao. Adults only. Service was excellent. Food is consistent with the other RIU properties we've stayed at. There was a lot of seaweed on the beach but that's not something that the resort can control. They tried to keep it as clean as possible. I would strongly recommend avoiding rooms 3080 to 3099. These are near the service areas and the route they take the service carts around. Can be a bit noisey early in the morning and late evening when they take the carts back and forth. I'd recommend you go here!
Customer Rating: 

RIU Macao
KELLY Y.
Jun 18 2018
When we booked with Apple the representative encourage us to up grade from RIU Republica to RIU Macao due to having access to the other RIU resorts next to us. After arriving we found out this was not completely true. We walked to the RIU resort next door just to check it out and was told we had to have a invite when we were looking at their food. When we went back to have a massage we had time to kill and went into the sports bar and was told they were not allowed to serve us due to us not staying at their resort. Had we known this before we would of saved money and stayed at RIU Republica. We were not told correct information.
Customer Rating: 

Wonderful outstanding staff
CRAIG C.
May 16 2018
The staff was amazing, I was given the wrong room but Dollyat the fron desk took right care of it and we could ot have bee happier beautiful comfortable room, the bar staff was super once they knew what you drank they never forgot and always refilled your glass without even having to ask them. The sea was rough one day which caused a lot of seaweed was removed by mid morning, We had a wonderful relaxing vacation and look forward to going back.
Customer Rating: 

Riu Palace Macao.... top notch
HERBERT W.
Feb 21 2018
I've stayed at this hotel in excess of 15 times, And it gets better each time I return. I've also stayed in a number of other hotels and the Macao is #1. The facilities are clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly, the staff is friendly and goes the extra miles to make sure your completely satisfied, the food choices in the main buffets seem to never end, and the pools and beach are outstanding. There are also plenty of activities available during the day and a show virtually every night. I've always enjoyed a great time. The Macao is also the only Riu hotel in the group that's adults only. Overall I would rate Stowe hotel 5 stars, and plan on returning.
Customer Rating: 

Services at hotel
RACHEL S.
Dec 12 2017
The staff and the services provided were outstanding
Customer Rating: 

Beautiful place to stay
STEVEN L.
Nov 20 2017
Everything was wonderful from the minute we checked in. The front desk people were so friendly, the service throughout our stay was great. The room was cleaned a couple times a day. The food was some of the best I've had at an all inclusive resort. The pools and pool areas were clean, the beach was nicely kept up. Besides for the weather, which could not be controlled, the trip was great all the way around!
Customer Rating: 

worst vacation ever
GEORGE T.
Sep 30 2017
the worst hotel I have ever stayed at
Customer Rating: 

Birthday getaway
WILLIAM L.
Aug 29 2017
We decided to escape to Punta Cana this year and Riu Palace Macao was our destination! From Dari at check in to FrNces from apple we were off to a good start. Maid service was exceptional however hotel maintenance was poor; our phone was broken the entire week, we were told the man that repairs that was on holiday. Air conditioning in the rooms was hit or miss with our last night a total miss when the room hit 88 degrees. Again we were told nonchalantly that the entire building was without ac and they hoped to have it repaired that day(as we checked out). So a few bumps in the road but back to general service like Francisco who took his personal time to help us obtain a bulb syringe from town and Juan who kept my glass full (most often with ice water). The area is beautiful as is the resort! Food was mediocre as were drinks but cerveza was nice and cold! We would go back, probably earlier in the year when not as hot! Great time!!
Customer Rating: 

10 Year Anniversary
JOHN M.
Jul 22 2017
10 year anniversary We had the absolute best vacation ever!! Our anniversary trip could not have been better. The room, staff, beach, pool and the animation team was simply the best! SuperMambo was our favorite of the animation team but we loved Aleesa too! We really loved the whole team because they were amazing. SuperMambo definitely brought the party every time he entered the room! He taught us how to salsa and made us crack up the whole time. We adored SuperMambo!! He made our trip so fun!! I have nothing negative to say at all! The resort was gorgeous and relaxing. I read so many mixed reviews when I was researching resorts and I have to say the negative ones are just RIDICULOUS!! I mean I don't think this vacation could have gone better! We enjoyed every second. The food was great and there was a huge variety. I tried grouper for the first time and that's my favorite fish now. We are planning our next vacation back to the Macao as soon as possible. Even though there are many resorts in Punta Cana I can't see a need to try any other when we obviously found the best! When you go look up SuperMambo for a good time!
Customer Rating: 

TripAdvisor Traveller Reviews
Great Holiday
Teresa T, Etobicoke
Tue Aug 14 06:17:51 EDT 2018
We were at this resort from July 10-24, 2018. Check in was fast. We were in room 3235, which was clean, and thank you Yolanda for honoring our room request, as we do know how difficult requests can be. Had a fantastic vacation. Staff were very friendly and treated us like royalty, Yohan, Wilson, Billy, Edwin, too many to mention. Food at the buffet was good and had quite a selection. Ate at the Italian a la cart, had the lamb, it was excellent. At the Steak House, the lobster tails were delicious. The Japanese was okay, too much salt. My husband usually puts salt on his food and he found that they tend to use a lot of salt on some of the food. But overall the food was excellent. The Entertainment crew worked hard getting people to dance with them when the singers/band/violinist were performing at 8:30pm. I do realize that the Dominican Republic is a Spanish speaking country, but it would have been nice if the entertainment in the hallway one night a week could have had a DJ, who played North American music for the age category 18-25, as if you did not know how to dance to the Spanish music there was not much for this age category to do other than drink and go for a walk. There is a disco in front of the resort, which does not belong to the resort that they could have gone to though. Even we would have enjoyed some North American music to dance to and we are in our late 50’s. The Entertainment shows where of a high caliber. We really enjoyed them and being at the resort for two weeks we did not see a repeat in entertainment, which we were expecting. Did not go in the pool or in that area. Too hot, no breeze. We stayed at the beach, which had plenty of loungers. Sand was fine, but the water had seaweed, but we managed around it. They did try to keep up with the raking of the seaweed, but at times failed. Someone said that June and July are seaweed months and on the third last day of our vacation the seaweed seemed to have dissipated. Also there had been a hurricane in the Dominica in May, which probably contributed to the abundance of seaweed. Water was not as warm as Jamaica, but once you were in it, it was fine. I do realize that the resort has no control over Mother Nature. There are vendors on the beach, as the beaches are not private, but all you had to say was “No thank you” and they moved on. There could have been better drink service on the beach, as we had to wait a long time for our drinks to arrive or sometimes not arrive. Overall it was a fantastic vacation, clean, friendly staff, good food and entertainment. We would return.

First time in the Dominican Republic
Sarah E,
Tue Aug 14 05:37:09 EDT 2018
After reading lots of reviews I was quite nervous about this hotel! We arrived mid day and the check in was extremely random and not very organised, the man was called roberto and gave me my room number etc and said oh you will want a upgraded room! This instantly made me nervous for the room. The room itself was nice, no mould or smelly room as others have described, maybe we got lucky! Room was 3012! Cleaning within the room is to a good standard however very inconsistent on when they come to clean your room! The towel lady comes at around 8pm at night which is strange. We went to most of the restaurants the steak house was the best one, Italian was poor and the Krystal restaurant wasn’t good at all. I ordered the sea bass it 100% was not a sea bass it was a grouper and from eating that I was ill. However this didn’t ruin my trip but kept well away from any grouper fish! Buffet has a great selection and you can’t complain about it! The beach was lovely and we spent most our time there and the server was fantastic, he needs more credit as he works so hard. We booked the trip to soana island and it was extremely disappointing, I didn’t even attempt the food there due to the amount of flies which I think were wasps!! It was a lovely trip for 10 days but decided to take a break from all inclusive, as there isn’t much to do and I enjoy going to a variety of restaurants!

Celebrating my son's 34th Birthday with the family
670minar,
Mon Aug 13 23:20:26 EDT 2018
This was our first trip to Punta Cana, DR, but we have stayed at a Riu resort in Jamaica before. We had 3 rooms for the 5 of us and even though we were quite a ways from each other, the views from each of our respective rooms were nice. There were a few small issues, but nothing that communicating with the staff did not resolve. Shout out to Ana Marie at the Front Desk, Gray Sanchez with Blue Travel for taking such good care of us. So overall our stay was pleasant. Everyone was very accommodating and blessing the staff with a tip, we could tell was appreciated. We didn't eat at any of the "Specialty" restaurants, as the buffet was quite sufficient and tasty for all of our meals. We did find it quite strange that the pool area closed at 6pm for a Adults Only property, but we spent our time on the beach and in the ocean, so it didn't matter. We did 2 excursions during our stay....the ATV ride to the beach, cave, etc. not so much...but the beach day on the private island that you travel one way on a speed boat and the other on a catamaran was quite delightful.

This review like others poor ones will have a cookie cutter response to it, you've been warned !!
Rick S,
Mon Aug 13 08:26:45 EDT 2018
*****Please Read other low star reviews: You will see basically the same complaints about this Resort with the same Cookie Cutter response from the Resort after this is posted. Riu has NOT addressed ANY of the concerns at the Resort as of our trip date 7/21 to 7/28.***** We do not recommend this resort! If you have to spend a couple dollars more at another resort DO IT!! It will be worth it. After speaking with others at the airport and on the flight back we learned that there are far better options for the same or a few dollars more. We have no idea why anyone would give this place anything better than a 3 star review. Guess it is inexperience travelers. The picture of the broke sign at the entrance reflecting this as a 1 Star Resort is True. (See photo) We choose the Riu resort because it has an excellent reputation; however, we were sorely disappointed with our choice! Communication was very difficult because most key personal in customer service areas such as Front Desk, Restaurant & Ground Managers had limited English speaking & comprehension skills. We know it is not their language but this was a problem when trying to resolve any type of issue or trying to get information. The resort’s use of traditional keys with the room number stamped into the key as well as reflected on the key chain is a safety concern.(See photo, room number is Grayed out). Should the key be lost or stolen all of our belongings are at risk not to mention our personal safety. I do not recall the last time we stayed in a hotel that did not have key cards. In addition, there was no way to lock the door once we were inside to prevent someone with a key from entering our room. On multiple occasions, there was a quick rap on the door and then the door was opened before we had an opportunity to answer. While we appreciate your services of refilling our bar and refrigerator along with fresh towel replenishment I feel that there should be a deadbolt inside to prevent this intrusion. Adult only yes BUT it is sandwiched between 2 "Family Properties" one of which has a water park & the path between them goes through the "Adult Beach". The rooms are dated and the resort has non-potable water, meaning bottled water is used just about everywhere including brushing teeth. Needless to say one of us had stomach issues the 1st few days due to brushing teeth & rinsing before we discovered the tiny sign located in corner of vanity. This is a RIU?? Some servers are nice enough & try but most of them seem very arrogant & they say yes to a request never to return, especially if you speak English. They seem to cater to Spanish speaking clientele due to no language barrier. The Food is fried or griddled everywhere. The fruit & salad were OK but far from good. The places to get food, snacks or quick bite to eat at an All Inclusive was very limited. Again finding information about when & where to find food was difficult due to the language barrier. The Front Desk was useless. We actually saw a cockroach walk on the table where the toast was at the breakfast buffet (yes in daylight with people around). In addition, we were at the lobby bar & a guest jumped out of his stool saying a cockroach just ran in front of him on the bar. The staff just smiled & nodded their heads on both occasions. The pool & bar at the pool closed at 6:00 PM?? Really this is an Adult Resort. Kicking people out of the pool closing pools at 6:00 is unheard of at Adult Resorts. There was only one small pool which allows drinks in or around it & honestly if you think about it nobody really leaves that pool to go to bathroom. (You know there is a P in Pool). Needless to say for our own health we avoided that pool & stuck with the beach & the drink service on the beach which was about the only positive part of our experience. We enjoyed our time on the beach especially the later in the day, it was very relaxing. Our problem is that the restaurant hours were not conducive to anyone wanting to eat at a later time. They all closed too early leaving our only option to be lames pre-made sandwiches or stale nachos in the lobby cafe. It seems unusual to us that at an all inclusive resort the dining times are so strict. This is supposed to be vacation at a luxury resort! The Liquor for an All Inclusive RIU property was very disappointing. There was 1 Brand of Beer, 1 Brand of some type of awful wine, 3 brands of Scotch (Dewar's Red Label the premium) 3 or 4 of ALL CHEAP Gin, Vodka, Rum & Tequila. We did reach out to Corporate during & after stay with no response to date. Again ***** Please read other reviews: You will see basically the same complaints about this Resort with the same Cookie Cutter response from the Resort after this is posted. Riu has NOT addressed ANY of the concerns at the Resort as of our trip date 7/21 to 7/28.*****

1st time at Riu
mservin126, Encinitas, California
Sun Aug 12 10:38:23 EDT 2018
My husband and I were at the Riu Palace Macao during the first week of July and we had such a wonderful time. Being our very first time at a Riu, we had no complaints during our stay. The food was great and the staff was amazing! A few of the staff members we would like to recognize are the following: Chef SEVERINO from the Krystal restaurant (which was our favorite restaurant btw), Juan Pablo, and Maria. We would also like to thank the Mexican Chef from D.F. (I don't recall his name), who made sure everybody received excellent service and greeted us upon arrival. We also enjoyed the Steak house which was absolutely delicious!



The comments and opinions on this Ratings and Reviews section of our website are the views and opinions of TripAdvisor members and AppleVacations.passengers. They are providied 'as is' and we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury, inconvenience or other damage resulting from this information. You should verify critical information (for example passports and visas, and customs) with the relevant authorities, and review our Fair Trade Contract and Things To Know Before You Go (including our Health and Safety Tips For Travelers) before you travel.
Be the first to know! Sign up for email deals. Subscribe